Reasons Why You Should Love The University of Lagos - Campus Trends


Campus Trends

No.1 Campus Information Website In Nigeria

Monday, December 11, 2017

Reasons Why You Should Love The University of Lagos


Motto In deed and in truth
Type: University
Established 1962
Vice-Chancellor: Professor Oluwatoyin Temitayo Ogundipe
Academic staff :1,123 (2013)
Administrative staff: 1,065 (2013)
Students57, 183 (2013)
Undergraduates44, 602 (2013)
Postgraduates12, 581 (2013)

ColorsGold and Puce

University of Lagos is a Federal Government owned tertiary institution that is located in Lagos State.
The main campus is located at AkokaYaba, while the Medical Campus of the College of Medicine is located a few kilometers from the main campus at Idi-Araba, Surulere, all on the Lagos mainland. 

The university has many other residential facilities and services for both staff and students. The University of Lagos has fourteen academic units comprising a broad range of professional faculties and schools. 
Most faculties are located on the main campus except the Faculties of Pharmacy, Clinical Sciences, Basic Medical Sciences and Dental Sciences, which are located within the College of Medicine in Idi Araba.
 The College of Medicine is also the site of the Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH). The university also has other centers and institutes in addition to the various departments in its faculties. 
The academic bodies of the University consist of the full-time undergraduate programs, the Distance Learning Institute (DLI) and the School of Postgraduate studies (full-time and part-time programs) whose dramatic growth has attracted the sobriquet "the Lagoon Lighthouse". The University of Lagos offers many Academic Programs. 

Students' halls of residence

The university has thirteen halls of residence for undergraduate students and two halls of residence for postgraduate students. A number of students also live in private residences and hostels outside the campuses. However, due to the inevitable annual increase in student population, there are future plans to provide more halls of residence. The existing halls are:
  • King Jaja Hall (male, undergraduate)
  • Jereton Mariere Hall (male, undergraduate)
  • Saburi Biobaku Hall (male, undergraduate)
  • El Kanemi Hall (male, undergraduate)
  • Kofoworola Ademola Hall (female, undergraduate)
  • Moremi Hall (female, undergraduate)
  • Queen Amina Hall (female, undergraduate)
  • Honours Hall (female, undergraduate)
  • Henry Carr Hall (mixed, postgraduate)
  • Erastus Akingbola Hall (mixed, postgraduate)
  • Sodeinde Hall (male, undergraduate)
  • Eni-Njoku Hall (male, undergraduate)
  • Aliyu Makama Bida Hall (female, undergraduate)
  • Fagunwa Hall (female, undergraduate)
  • Madam Tinubu Hall (female, undergraduate)

Popular Places in University of Lagos's Campus 

Adetokunbo Sofuluwe Park
Please share this post with others..